When Windows came with the "Windows Vista", I realice that it was the time to change to mac or linux.
Finally I got a Mac, and since then, I was more than happy with a new computer that was not asking for confirmation of all I am doing, and works better that my old pc with Windows XP.

Don't get me wrong, I almost install no software on my mac, and you can't change almost anything...
So is quite logical, that it works better.

But after the upgrade to "Snow Leopard", I find myself using again an old sentence, this time, with no Windows... "Fucking Mac"
"Example" is an application you have downloaded from the internet, are you sure you want to open it ?
"Do you want to use "My External Disk" to back up with Time Machine?

This messages, are ok, if you are a normal user, iTunes and facebook, but if you have to use a loot of external drives, or work connected to and ftp server, clicking yes after each downloaded file, is just a pain in the ass...

At last in windows, you can always find the way to cancel that messages...
So, what can we do with our mac ?


File quarantine in Mac

When you download files and open them for first time, you will get a message asking for confirmation. It goes along the line of "Example" is an application you have downloaded from the internet, are you sure you want to open it'. Its designed as a message barrier to stop you opening malicious files that could harm your Mac. The problem I have is that its a bit annoying and I know what I am downloading.

To remove the message, run the next command in the terminal:

defaults write com.apple.LaunchServices LSQuarantine -bool NO

Then restart your Mac.
If you ever want to revert the process copy and paste the following into Terminal and hit enter.

defaults write com.apple.LaunchServices LSQuarantine -bool YES

Stop Time Machine from Nagging About Every External Disk

Every time you plug in a different external disk Time Machine asks if you want to use it for backups.
This can be a pain in the ass, if you are a programmer, or system administrator with loots of backups and external units.

What we need is a way to set a policy that tells Time Machine to not ask about every disk that is plugged in.
Here it is:

defaults write com.apple.TimeMachine DoNotOfferNewDisksForBackup -bool YES